What we’re all about

The California Swing Dance Hall Of Fame was founded in 1990 and is a non-profit, 501c3 Corporation run by a volunteer Board of Directors. Its mission is to pay tribute to and promote the recognition and appreciation of professional and non-professional dancers of the past and present, whose outstanding talents and showmanship created a legacy of movement, rhythm, energy and style in the art of swing dancing. The organization also strives to pass on this swing dance legacy to the present dance generation and to ensure that the inherited styling will continue to be interpreted and enjoyed in its highest artistic form.

Those inducted or recognized into the Hall of Fame must be California residents for at least Five years. Anyone can nominate deserving Swing Dancers for consideration by submitting a Nominee Application to the Board of Directors. A dancer is not permitted to nominate themselves but may solicit a Board member or Distinguished Elector on their behalf.

They must have at least:

Nova 5 to 10 years swing dance experience.
Rising Star 11 to 20 years Swing Dance experience.
Shining Star 21 to 30 years Swing Dance experience.
Golden Star 31+ years Swing Dance experience.
Special Achievements Individuals who have substantially contributed to the California Swing Dance Hall of Fame and/or Swing Dance in California.
Couples Couples recognized for their contribution and influence as a swing dance couple.
Stellar Legendary individuals who over the years contributed substantially to Swing Dancing in California and are deceased.